There is very little that you need to know to do Sahaja Yoga sadhana, but there is a great deal you must learn in order to understand these few things well, and it is important that you do.

Most written Sanskrit teachings on the way of union with God begin with, “Therefore, now yoga will be explained.” This statement clearly indicates that something comes before taking up yoga sadhana.

During the time most of these texts were written, dharma was assumed to have been instilled throughout childhood and adolescence, so these teachings are not always found in writings on yoga. An exception to this is Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, where he mentions ten spiritual principles, or laws. Because our own culture has missed out on this, I have written the Ten Keys to Success course as a means of getting this knowledge out in a generic fashion.

The ten principles, or Ten Keys, consist of five yamas and five niyamas. Each yama and each niyama is one Sanskrit word—ten words for ten principles, not all of which can be translated succinctly into English in one word. The important thing to remember is that each of these words expresses a principle, a teaching, and is a representation of your true nature and what that looks like when you live successfully by that principle.

For convenience, I have translated these principles as simply as possible.

The Yamas
As practices, the yamas are generally considered to be “restraints.”

1. Harmlessness
2. Truth
3. Non-theft
4. Sexual restraint
5. Non-possessiveness

The yamas are said to be universal: They are not limited by birth, class, culture, race, time (past, present, future), situation, or religion, and constitute the foundation and support of yoga and successful living. Abiding by these principles constitutes a meritorious mode of life that is the greatest service to the world.

The Niyamas
As practices, the niyamas are generally considered to be “observances.”

1. Purity of food, environment, thought, speech, and company
2. Contentment in all circumstances
3. Self-discipline, self-control
4. Study of scriptures, of self and Self
5. Surrender/devotion to God and Guru

These ten principles are meant to be looked at more closely as teachings for one practicing surrender sadhana, regardless of one’s religion, spiritual path or teaching lineage. They are brimming with information, and can only be fully understood through experience, as is the case with all mystical teachings.

The Payoff

To the degree a yama or a niyama is mastered, a special power results. So there is a payoff for bothering yourself to pay attention to these ten principles/teachings/laws. By making progress toward mastery, you clear the way to even greater progress.

Durga Ma

Surrender Meditation
Sahaja Yoga, Shaktipat Kundalini Yoga

Shaktipat Diksha
Shaktipat Intensives & Remote Shaktipat

__________ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ __________

One thought on “Dharma

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s