Kundalini and the Three Worlds

In your body there are three worlds, the world of the Creator, the world of the Sustainer, and the world of the Transformer. Each chakra calls one of these worlds home. Kundalini passes through them as it ascends.

In the following excerpt from Living the Mysteries, clarifications are in brackets [  ].

° ° ° ° °

Teachings that discuss a three chakra system are teachings about … three lokas [worlds] and granthis [knots].  This gives us an idea of how a teaching concerning only three chakras can coexist with a teaching of … seven or more chakras.

Each chakra exists in one of these worlds, so think of each chakra in the context of the loka in which it is located and the knot that kundalini tries to unravel there.  I have listed some key words that may help you get a feel for the general characteristics of the three worlds.

The First World, Brahma Loka

The god Brahma is the personification of the creative aspect of the Divine.  Brahma Loka means Brahma’s World, so the granthi, or plexus, of this world is called the Brahma granthi.  Brahma is the creative aspect of the Divine and is associated with the created world.  The first, second and third chakras are in The World of Brahma, so the earth of the first chakra, the water of the second chakra and the fire of the third all exist in the context of the material world.

Each loka is of a different quality, or guna.  The quality of Brahma Loka is rajas, which is passionate, intense or highly active.  This quality is responsible for bondage through attachment to action and the sense of doership.

The difficulties that arise when kundalini is making her way through the world of the first three chakras are material or ‘worldly’ in nature.  They are tangles about the world and your relationship to it that have to come untied.

For the kundalini to pass through this extremely complex and complicated web is extraordinarily difficult.  When this happens, a deep sound is heard, something like a combination of the popping of a cork from a champagne bottle and a deep sounding drum.  It is believed by some that the tabla, a tuned Indian drum, was created to imitate this sound.  This sound seems to come from inside and outside the body at the same time.

The Second World, Vishnu Loka

Once kundalini passes beyond the third chakra, it enters into a different world.  Vishnu Loka means Vishnu’s World.  Vishnu is the aspect of the Divine that sustains and maintains life.  If you recognize this description as the description of the life energy, prana, you have made the connection correctly—the home of prana is in the fourth chakra, the heart, the first chakra in Vishnu Loka.  Vishnu rides the bird Garuda, symbol of the life energy which enters the body primarily through the breath [air].

The fourth and fifth chakras are in this more subtle world of energy associated with the astral body.  The issues and challenges of the Vishnu granthi concern your relationship with others.  Whereas Brahma’s world was the world of matter, Vishnu’s world is the subtler world of the energy.  The quality, or guna, of Vishnu Loka is sattvas, smooth flowing, easy-going, and peaceful.  This quality is responsible for bondage through attachment to happiness and wisdom.

When kundalini finally passes through the Vishnu granthi, the sound of the cork popping out of the champagne bottle may be heard, only this time without the bass drum.  It is followed instead by the sound of the celestial music.  It is believed by some that the vina, an Indian musical instrument, was originally created to imitate this sound.

The Third World, Rudra Loka

Rudra is another name for Shiva, the god of destruction and transformation.  What is destroyed is ignorance of Absolute Truth, the Divine, and death.  What is transformed is your own being.  Shiva in his Rudra aspect, is ‘the scary other.’  The quality of Rudra’s World is tamasTamas is usually considered to be not a very good thing.  It is responsible for bondage through attachment to ignorance, delusion, indulgence and denial.  It’s quality is very slow moving, if it moves at all.  In fact, ‘fixed’ is a good definition of tamas.

The quality of tamas causes one to feel disinclined to be very active.  Before kundalini begins the journey up the sushumna, tamas indicates slowness, ignorance, sloth, impurity, and other horrible things; but when the process of spiritual evolution reaches the realm of Rudra, it’s an asset to stay put.  You become an anchorite.  You become disinterested in anything ‘worldly.’  What remains to be done?  Where is there left to go?  Where is there left for the energy to go?  Here, in Rudra Loka, when desire is no longer an issue, tamas is a blessing, not a curse.

From Living the Mysteries, Copyright ©1999,
Durga Ma and Terry Anne Preston, Ph.D.

Go to the list of posts on Kundalini

° ° ° ° °

__||   Get Living the Mysteries, the spiritual journey of Durga Ma, compiled by Dr Terry Preston. Includes photos and writings from the notebooks of Durga Ma. Kindle version .99 cents. The book is also available through Amazon at PhoenixMetaphysicalInstitute.com.

__||   Learn Ten Keys to Success, an online course.
FREE to my blog Followers.

__||   Apply for Remote Shaktipat

° ° ° ° °

One thought on “Kundalini and the Three Worlds

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s