The First Chakra, Continued

The first three chakras are in Brahma Loka, the world of Creativity, and Hatha Yoga sadhana (sun-moon union practice). The guna (natural characteristic) associated with this world is rajas (passionate, intense). This is the realm of Prana (Life Energy), the third, fourth and fifth steps of Ashtanga Yoga (Eight-Limbs Union), asana, pranayama, and pratyahara, the awakening of Kundalini, and spontaneous bandhas (locks).

This and the previous post, The First Chakra, Muladhara, and upcoming posts on individual chakras, should help you to identify chakras experienced during meditation.

Determining Individual Chakras

Considering the name of each chakra, and the features of each chakra, can help you to determine with which chakra a phenomenon may be associated, thus giving you the chakra‘s identity. Also, the significance of chakra events, or experiences, is suggested not only by the name, but by the characteristics of a chakra, such as its location, the element associated with it, and so forth.

Characteristics of the First Chakra

The first chakra is located in Brahma Loka at the perineum, has four petals, four vibrational frequencies of the specific sounds of Sanskrit syllables, and is associated with the elimination of things passing out of the physical body. Its mystical diagram is the square, the color is red, the sense organ is the nose, the sense faculty is smell, the element is earth, the elemental color is yellow. 

When contemplating these features, ask yourself questions about them. For instance, the first chakra is located in Brahma Loka, the world of Creation. Think what that implies. Muladhara, the name of the first chakra, means “root holder”, so ask yourself, what is “root”? and what is “holder”? What does this name imply?

Mula means ‘root’, and adhara means ‘holder, support or foundation’. Think about it. A foundation is the support of a house, your house — your body. This attests to the importance of this chakra and even tells you why it is important. A root is usually found in the earth, so the muladhara chakra is associated with the element earth. But what does this mean for you? 

Earth is the material plane and everything that goes with it. This includes not only the planet and material substance, but your own personal, physical world — your body, your family and your ancestors, the desire for physical safety, the urge to have control over the environment, and the obtaining of material possessions. Your body and its roots — genetics, inherited assets and liabilities — are all associated with this chakra.

When this chakra has been evolved, these things no longer determine the way you act or live, they no longer preoccupy your mind, or run your life. I don’t mean that these things disappear, but that you are not driven by them. I don’t mean that you are in control of them either, but that they are not in control of you.

At a Pizza Parlor

From Living the Mysteries, © 1999

Some time before I began my spiritual practices, I was in a pizza parlor with my children, sitting on a bench at a picnic table.  In this pizza parlor, there was a big pipe organ, its huge pipes lining the entire back wall all the way up to the high ceilings. While I was there, the organist came out to begin playing.  He made a big deal of his entrance. The first thing he did after he sat down was to play the lowest tone on the organ at full volume and sustain it. The rumble of the low vibration began to vibrate the base of my spine and my first chakra began whirling. I experienced a tremendous thrill. My mouth fell open and I’m sure my eyes were as big as saucers. I was amazed and completely taken by surprise.

Since that time, I have known with a certainty that the chakras, and consequently the entire body, are affected by musical tones and other sounds generated from outside the body.

Mastery of the First Chakra:  You get what is desired; you get the vision of the Divine; the life energy enters the sushumna; the mind, the breath and sexual energy become introverted and their movement stops spontaneously.

The Seat of Yoga

The first chakra is the root, seat, and foundation of yoga. It is the place where the sun and moon unite to form kundalini and trigger the bandhas (locks). It is not going to disappear anytime soon — it will continue to be present during the evolutionary process of other chakras, so its benefits and its challenges will continue to manifest from time to time, even as you notice changes in your life.

Jaya Bhagavan (Victory to God!),
Durga Ma

Phoenix Metaphysical Institute
Life Mastery Self Coaching

Apply for Remote Shaktipat

Go to the list of posts on KUNDALINI.

3 thoughts on “The First Chakra, Continued

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s