The Third Chakra

The third chakra is called manipura, which means ‘jewel city’. With a name like that, it must be very valuable! 

The third chakra is located at the navel, has ten petals, ten vibrational frequencies identified by the sounds of specific Sanskrit syllables, and is associated with digestion. Its mystical diagram is the triangle, the color is yellow-gold (or green), the sense organ is the eyes, the sense faculty is sight, the element is fire, the elemental color is blood-red.

The third chakra is called the manipura, which means ‘jewel city’. A jewel is something precious, valuable, and difficult to destroy. A city is a place where many paths converge, where many people and many things come together in one place.

At your navel, you were connected to a life in this world, and to the one who brought you into it, to the one who provided you with nourishment and sustenance while your body developed sufficiently to enter into life. Perhaps it is you that is precious and valuable.

The element associated with the third chakra is fire, the fire of the sun, or prana, the Life Energy. The sun makes life possible and sustains it. Into this sacrificial fire is thrown all the things of which we wish to free ourselves. Here we offer things like resentment, possessiveness and gluttony. By making the offering through surrender to the Divine, we are purified by this fire and our wellbeing is increased. Through these sacrifices, our surrender deepens and the Life Energy gains more freedom to do its job of sustaining and maintaining life and wellbeing. Now Kundalini can get on with Her job of evolving us to our natural, divine state.

The business of the third chakra is digestion. Think about digestion, what that is, how it works, and apply this to other things besides food. Digestion involves change, transformation. It is the process of treating something by means of heat in order to extract essentials. Here we are reminded of the principle of tapas, or purification by fire. Where purification by water takes care of impurities through elimination, tapas purifies by melting things down in order to separate them, leaving only the good stuff—like separating the gold from the dross (remember how we defined purification?). Prana wants to keep only what has value in order to make way for Kundalini to evolve you to your natural, divine state.

The Brahmagranthi

At this chakra a metropolis of energy channels in the body converge in a tangle, called a granthi. This particular granthi is called the Brahma-granthi. When this granthi is pierced and resolved by Kundalini, one achieves mastery of brahmacharya. Most never reach this point, and very few ever master it.

When kundalini has evolved your third chakra, you become a giver of happiness to others. You attain mastery over desire and sorrow, and all diseases are destroyed. You can cheat death, and you can enter into the body of another.

The third chakra is very difficult—fire not only purifies and sustains life, but it can also take it. When we consider what has to be accomplished in order to pass beyond this chakra, not to mention master the brahmagranthi, we are humbled (and we thought the second chakra was difficult!). We have to concede that our kundalini has not reached those most popular chakras at the eyebrow center and the crown center, that all those experiences we had that we thought were kundalini were really prana producing wonders while doing its job. Well, that’s not so bad now is it? It just goes to show that God, in any form, will never let you down.

About Brahmacharya

Brahmacharya is the practice of chastity, and is the name of the first ashrama, or stage of life, the student stage. During this stage, the first twenty-five years, one maintains chastity. This is not just a moral injunction, but the means of allowing kundalini to maintain some degree of freedom to evolve the individual to a high degree of intelligence, even genius, thus insuring that wealth (artha), pleasure (kama), and freedom (moksha) can be successfully achieved in the stages of life that follow.

When the word brahmacharya is broken down, depending upon the spelling, we have:

brahma (God, Absolute, impersonal), and charya (movement, conduct, or practice) = God-action, God-conduct, God-practice.

OR we have …

brahmaa (God, Absolute, personal), and either charya (moving), acharya (not moving), or aacharya (arrived at, done) = God-action, God-nonaction, or God-realized/mastered/arrived at.

To complicate things further, though not commonly spelled with a long ‘a’ (brahmaacharya), brahmaa is also used as the name for God as Creator, which gives us = Creator God-action, Creator God-nonaction or Creator God-mastery.

The question is, which is it? And what does it mean? This is one of those places where the necessity for oral teachings becomes apparent.

May your tapas increase,
Durga Ma

Phoenix Metaphysical Institute
Apply for Remote Shaktipat

Go to the list of posts on KUNDALINI and the chakras.

4 thoughts on “The Third Chakra

  1. Pingback: The Fifth Chakra | Mystical Tidbits

  2. Pingback: The Fourth Chakra | Mystical Tidbits

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s