Somewhere In Time – Bhagavad Gita, Ch 10, Vs 6, continued

You are on a very long journey somewhere in time. Where are you now? 

Read the Prelude to this chapter

Your Personal Manus, Sages and Manvantaras

A microcosmic view of your own Manu and Seven Sages within your current Manvantara

Manvantaras are huge time periods said to be 306,720,000 of our years. There are fourteen of these time periods in a Day of God. A Manu is the ruling force of a Manvantara.

The fourteen Manvantaras can be seen as the fourteen stages of your entire journey through many lifetimes to union with God/Truth and liberation from return (you go Home).

A different Manu rules each of the fourteen stages. The name of each Manu suggests the overall nature, or context, of each stage. A certain characteristic will be the primary subject (Manu) of each stage of your journey from the very beginning of life—your Personal Big Picture of fourteen Manvantaras, or stages of the journey.

Your Personal Sages

There are seven Great Sages in each Manvantara whose purpose it is to guide humankind in living in harmony with Truth and attaining enlightenment and liberation.

The Seven Sages are the Divine Beings who preside over your seven chakras. I experienced the seven chakras as Seven Walls, and met with a Great Sage within each one. At that time in my life, I had no knowledge or awareness of Eastern teachings of any kind. (See Living the Mysteries).  

The way you experience things in your Personal Manvantara is determined by the nature of your mind (the Manu) and chakras (the Sages). Your chakras hold the energy and power of all your abilities and obstacles, all your powers and limitations, all the positive and negative attributes and influences that are to be dealt with during this time period, with the helpful guidance of the Sages. 

The Sages also represent the senses (each sense is associated with a chakra) and the seven gates of your sense organs in the east (antara), the seven openings in the head and face (east). The largest sense organ, the skin, and the sense of touch, covers the whole body, which explains Arjuna’s chariot as the body, and the other four senses as the four horses drawing the chariot, controlled from the reins by the driver. This is usually you, but Arjuna has turned this job over to his guru, Lord Krishna, Absolute God.

Time, Timelessness, and “Now” 

For all beings, “Now” is somewhere in Time

The Christian cross (†) is, among other things, suggestive of the linear nature of time (—) and the non-linear nature of timelessness (|), the linear being the subject of this verse. The cross further represents the dual nature of the world and life as we know it. Consider Noah and his Ark filled with pairs of opposites to save Life on this world. Noah is another name of the Manu, the ruling force, of our current Manvantara (the time-period between Manus) and your current lifetime.

The point at which time and timelessness converge in the cross (+) represents the “Now”. “Now” is no-time and all-time simultaneously. The dichotomy of this convergence of time and timelessness is experienced in nirbija samadhi not as a dichotomy, but as God, Truth Itself. God is a conundrum in a dualistic world, which is why nirbija samadhi is impossible to adequately describe.

Day and Night

In this verse, the subject is huge time periods of Creation that go on for fourteen Manvantaras, and then are ‘dissolved’. At a personal level, your personal world dissolves into Night when you sleep. When you wake, it is Day. Where you are concerned, the Day is all about Time, and Night is Timeless—there is no ‘time’ there, especially in ‘deep sleep’.

Where the horizontal and vertical lines of the cross converge (+) is the point at which time and timelessness exist together. This does not represent destruction, but a specific point in this transition. As day dissolves into night, and night dissolves into day again, one experiences a personal version of the big picture of a Day and Night of God.

The End of the World

We humans see “the end of the world” as a doomsday scenario because we cannot wrap our wits around the concept of simultaneous time and timelessness. But do you experience the horror of disaster when you go to sleep at night? Probably not. Think about that. Then think about death in the same way: it is a transition—Day is winding down into Night. In the morning, Night will melt away into Day and you will be reborn or find yourself in heaven or somewhere that is not this world, but the “un-world” as spoken of in “The Big Picture”. and the “Prelude” to this chapter.

Throughout your lifetime until the next transition, you have a personal Ruling Force, a Manu, and seven Great Sages. Your Manu is the context of your life. Your seven Great Sages are your benevolent guides residing within your seven chakras. They are on your side. They try to influence you throughout your life in the best possible way. It is wise to listen to their guidance in the form of opportunities consistent with the ten fundamental spiritual principles. These opportunities will always be beneficial to your spiritual development (your journey), and consequently, will also bring you greater happiness. 

A Manu and seven Great Sages will be with you in your journey through Time, through the fourteen Manvantaras of the Big Picture until End Time, when your journey is complete and you are Home for good. 

It may seem that you are trapped by Time, but you are not. You can expedite things and complete the journey Home sooner if you wish. This is where Yoga comes in. This is its purpose. 


As an embodied being, your acceptance of Divine Others as the same as Your Divine Self is the same as surrendering to Absolute God. The payoff is direct experience and sabija samadhi. The acceptance of ALL Others as the same as You is full and complete surrender. Then the payoff is nirbija samadhi, union with Absolute God: you visit Home.

Namaste (I bow to the divine one you really are),
Durga Ma

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s